The creation of the Port District of Visayas was a result of the reorganization of PPA in February 1988.  At that time PDO  Visayas was composed of Eastern, Central, Midwestern and Western Visayas.

Today , PDO Visayas covers all ports in the three (3) geopolitical regions of Visayas: Regions  6, 7 & 8 except the  ports in the cities and municipalities of Cebu province which is placed under the operational and administrative supervision of the Cebu Port Authority. The District manages SIX (6)  Port Management Offices (Dumaguete, Iloilo, Ormoc, Pulupandan, Tacloban & Tagbilaran)  and thirty three (33) terminal ports.